WACE Requirements

WACE Requirements

These are the minimum requirements for students to receive a Western Australian Certificate of Education (WACE) in 2024 and beyond.

Breadth and depth requirement
Completion of a minimum of 20 units, which may include unit equivalents attained through VET and/or endorsed programs. This requirement must include at least: (Explanatory notes 1, 2 , 3, 4, 5)

  • a minimum of ten Year 12 units, or the equivalent
  • four units from an English learning area course, post-Year 10, including at least one pair of Year 12 units from an English learning area course
  • one pair of Year 12 units from each of List A (arts/languages/social sciences) and List B (mathematics/science/technology).

Achievement standard requirement
Achievement of at least 14 C grades or higher (or the equivalent) in Year 11 and 12 units, including at least six C grades (or equivalents) in Year 12 units.

Completion of:

  • at least four Year 12 ATAR courses (Explanatory note 5), or
  • at least five Year 12 General courses(Explanatory note 7) (or a combination of General and up to three Year 12 ATAR courses(Explanatory note 5)) or equivalent(Explanatory note 8), or
  • a Certificate II (or higher) VET qualification(Explanatory notes 9 and 10) in combination with ATAR, General or Foundation courses).

Literacy and numeracy standard

Demonstration of the minimum standard of literacy and numeracy. (Explanatory notes 11 and 12)

See more information and explanatory notes here: https://senior-secondary.scsa.wa.edu.au/the-wace/wace-requirements

WACE – What you Need to Know